House Price Crash Forum
scruffian

Saving Money

I don't usually like to blow my own trumpet, but one thing I am quite good at is saving money. I have been saving since I was 16 and even th

Edited by scruffian

Sorry I have no idea what happened there. I edited my post and most of it disappeared.

Let me start again...

I am on quite a low income, but I have been saving for a deposit on a house for a few years and have got quite a good way there, despite the fairly hefty rent I pay. I not very keen on buying in the current climate, but my wife and I are starting to think about starting a family. I am aware that my salary alone will not cover the rent and bills let alone living costs, but I have ben assured by friends and family that we should be able to make ends meet if we claim benefits.

I have looked into this and it seems that you can only claim most benefitys if you have savings or investments of less than £16,000, which I don't.

So are far as I can work out it doesn't make sense for me to continue saving, since this money will have to be spend on day to day living costs until I become eligable for benefits.

If anyone has any ideas on ways round this that would be very helpful

Thanks

Thanks

'Spend' your money on gold coins and stash them under the matress, you've then got a store of wealth that won't show up as savings, ok you could argue this is an investment but who's going to know. People here may have suggestions of a non-monetary store of wealth other than gold?

Edited by Manic Miner

I have looked into this and it seems that you can only claim most benefitys if you have savings or investments of less than £16,000, which I don't.

So are far as I can work out it doesn't make sense for me to continue saving, since this money will have to be spend on day to day living costs until I become eligable for benefits.

Thanks

I don't know about ways around this.

I know that saving (I think you mean in a bank account?) CAN be right at certain times.