House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
El_Pirata

The Twisted Logic Driving This Madness

Britons are getting wealthier, according to a spate of recent articles such as this one:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2095-2168256.html

Most of this "wealth" is due to house price rises. The net equity in our houses has risen, therefore we are richer.

This is utter rubbish, and totally ignores the basic concept of being 'long' or 'short' in a market. To most people this concept should be intuitive, but I fear a barrage of propaganda in the media has caused many to drift into a false consciousness where this concept is discarded, to the benefit of the banks from which they will borrow money to get at their wealth.

Let's go through this in very simple terms (I am going to state the bleedin obvious many times, sorry!). Pretend I am an oil producer. I just produced a cargo of oil from my well, which I need to sell. I am long one cargo of oil. If the price of oil goes up, I gain, if it falls I lose.

Now pretend I am an oil refiner. I have pre-sold some gasoline at a fixed price and I need to buy a cargo of oil to make it. I am short one cargo of oil. If the price of oil falls, I gain, if it rises I lose.

Are we clear? Now in the middle of long and short, we have "balanced". If I am balanced I neither benefit of gain from price movements. For example, I am an oil trader who has a cargo to sell, but also needs to buy a cargo to fulfill a commitment. If the price goes up, the profit I make on the cargo I have to sell is wiped out by the fact that the cargo I need to buy is more expensive. I am price neutral.

Still with me? Not hard, is it. Now, as human beings, we need a roof over our heads, so we are born short one house. While we rent, we are short one house. If the price of houses falls, we gain.