House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Prude

Calling Worldly Wise Hpcers

As someone who would rather go camping in Devon rather than have 2 weeks in Benidorm, I have limited knowledge of the way in which other countires operate.

So what I'd like to know is which other nations have (and which definately haven't) bought into the idea that to buy a house requires 2 full time incomes as FTBs?

Those of us who have children know how your core values change when you become a parent - work/material gain/self indulgence all take a step back on your priority list.

Can women or even modern fathers choose to be available for their children while they are young anymore, or is it all day care from 6mths onwards? Is there a way back to giving young couples the choice of staying at home if one of them wishes to? Will prices adjust to allow this or has the idea that the mortage should be affordable on one of the couples wages gone forever?

I'm sure that there must be nations out there where they just wouldn't allow this to become the normal position. So which countries still value family life?

I think it's fair to say that the first families to send their females off to work must be far ahead of the pack now due to the accumulated benefit from their efforts.

Will it ever go back to 1 wage households? Will women want to go back to the kitchen?

Can women or even modern fathers choose to be available for their children while they are young anymore?

I stay at home quite a lot. My kids seem to think this is normal for a Dad. BTL might get you there too, you just have to try!

Guest Guy_Montag

I'm quite old-fahioned for a 29yo. I would like to be able to support my (imaginary) wife & kids on a single income, even if it means going camping on the west coast of Scotland or in Britanny for a few years. On the other hand I would also welcome being supported by my wife, while I brought up the kids, if she was more "successful" than me.