House Price Crash Forum
GonnaBeSkint?

Newbie Here... About To Jump In... In Islington

Hi everyone! I've been reading the board for some time now, but I've only just got around to registering.

I'm about to buy in Islington, London and wondered what you thought of my method of valuation. The area I want to buy in is rather well-to-do and the houses (mainly period Georgian and Victorian) frequently fetch over a million, and have done for a number of years. The property I'm interested in is a 3 bed semi, about 30 years old with garage, off street parking, garden and roof terrace in a cul-de-sac. Very peaceful by all accounts. It's one of four built at the same time, this one being the biggest. It needs redecorating and could probably do with a new kitchen and bathrooms in the fullness of time.

To the valuation. The smallest one of the four houses sold in 2001 for £530k (which may itself have been an inflated price - I don't know). I calculated that if it had increased in value at the rate of inflation (using the average RPI since 2001) it would be worth just shy of £600k today. You then need to add some more on to account for the fact that London property generally exceeds the RPI and this particluar property is bigger than the one sold in 2001. It's all little more than speculation at the end of the day, but you have to start somewhere, so I was thinking that £650k would be the most I would want to pay for the place.

I remember reading somewhere that during the last crash areas such as Kensington and Chelsea were only mildly affected, and in some cases prices kept steadily rising throughout the crash. Is it unreasonable to think that posh areas of Islington might be less affected in the forthcoming crash?

Simon

if you can afford a 650k house in islington, i dunno why you would troll hpc boards for advice. your earning power and inteligence to reach such levels betray your thirst for our minion knowledge.....

(m..m..must not claim awooga...mm..m..must resist..)