House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Jason

When Will Retailers Pass Input Inflation On To The Consumer?

I currently work in the food & drink export sector (maintain databases etc) and run lots of reports for the directors, like price inflation (we only sell to over seas customers). Usually the first three months of the year most price increases come through, and have found food inflation is around 3-6% over the last 12 months (although this is difficult to measure). I was therefore very surprised to find March's CPI figure to be –0.4% for food and drink over the last twelve months.

I may have been jumping the gun a bit with my ranting, as they would be measuring selling prices from the likes of Tesco that refuse these increases, although we buy from the same suppliers.

But what has struck me to make this post is two major customers of ours have refused to accept ANY price increases over 2006 (including back dated increases). After lots of debates, and pointing out products are cheaper to them because of the lower pound (they pay in sterling, of which has fallen against their currency), the directors are slowing giving in to fixing the prices for the year. There is a general thinking that we can pass increases on in 2007 to make up for it (like that's going to happen!)

But this must be happening with lots of retailers, not just in the food & drink sector. They must be absorbing all these additional costs lowering their profits. A few people I talk to use the 'head in the sand' strategy and hope everything will be ok… But unless input prices fall I can't see that being the case.

One thing we can guarantee is businesses will grumble if they are making smaller profits…

But this can't go on forever. Eventually something will break, but what?

+ Businesses pass on all these costs maintaining their margins producing inflation, showing up in the CPI?

+ They try to keep profits high by reducing costs, like labour, meaning more unemployment?