House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Jem

Romford

Anyone with experience of living in Romford. Also, what have prices been doing? I am trying to find locations with reasonable access to London but at sensible prices. Romford appears to be one of these areas, but I have no experience of living in East or North East London. Any comments would be appreciated.

Anyone with experience of living in Romford. Also, what have prices been doing? I am trying to find locations with reasonable access to London but at sensible prices. Romford appears to be one of these areas, but I have no experience of living in East or North East London. Any comments would be appreciated.

Hi jem,

i'm in the process of buying aplace in romford, born in the area although have lived in other parts of london through the years (28 now). I'm getting a 3 bed victorian semi for 203500.

Been watching the market for a few years and house prices havent much changed although flat prices have gone up. alongside this,, there has been LOADS of flat developments going on, with at least 3 major ones going on at the moment. These are around 180k+ and a just over priced hutchs, not really my type of place. If you give me an idea of budget or size of house i'll give you an idea of the best kind of places, but the rule is : 1 bed houses 130-170, 2 beds 170-200 3 beds 190 - 230 4 beds 230-280. alot of the places are postr war although there is edwardian and victorian places around

as far as quality of life, that depends on what you look for. It does deserve its reputation somewhat as an essex girl/man hangout and suffers from having a lot of pubs/clubs in the centre with the trouble associated with it. On the plus side it has a great deal of shops with 4 different shopping centres/areas all within walking distance. transport is great with fast trains taking 18 mins to liverpool street.