House Price Crash Forum
Time to raise the rents.

Have Real Rents Fallen Or Risen Over The Past Decade Or So?

rents have not come down since the council sell off. if your going to debate, thats fine, but please TTRTT stop making up utter rubbish.

Fred says rents have not been coming down. You all must be lying to me then. I've been hearing here for 2 years now how cheap it is to rent.

So who is right, you lot, or Fred?

'Real' rents please.

Fred says rents have not been coming down. You all must be lying to me then. I've been hearing here for 2 years now how cheap it is to rent.

'Real' rents please.

There should be some statistics on this somewhere. Stats and indexes can be biased and/or inaccurate, but anecdotal evidence is even worse. But just to give some numbers, in my case, the rents I paid in London over a five year period went up about 11% from beginning to end. That's about 2.2% increase per year. Though the first place I got was a bargain and the latter ones not. So the evidence from my experience is that real rents are not rising.

Billy Shears

Ten years ago I rented a 2-bed house for £500pcm. Today, similar houses are advertised for £625. Can't be arsed to annualise and deflate that, anyone like doing sums?

Ten years ago I rented a 2-bed house for £500pcm. Today, similar houses are advertised for £625. Can't be arsed to annualise and deflate that, anyone like doing sums?

That's pretty much identical price in real terms.

rents have come down slightly from totally outrageous to simply outrageous. only then because no one can afford totally outrageous anymore.

only council and housing association rents bear any reality to local wages.

private rents are always higher - why ?

why ?

what extra do you get ?

noe. ziltch. ditto.