House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
teachertim

Anyone Know Anything About Birkenshaw, West Yorkshire ?

Thinking of buying (yes, that's what I said !) a house on Regency Mews development in Birkenshaw. When I have posted on here before there seemed to be some good guys with knowledge of my area, just wondered if anyone knew it.

It is a Persimmon development,

3 storey 3 bed Mews with garage

£179,950

- £5,000

5% deposit paid

Stamp Paid

Full carpeted

£500 towards legal,

I know you guys will say they putting loads of deals on it because it is over priced etc... However, according to LR they have sold 6 for full £179,950. I appreciate they will have probably paid 5% deposit of those which would not show up on LR data.

I'm a teacher, earning £25k buying with my partner who is also a teacher earning £25k. Getting an Interest only mortgage for £160,000 in first instance, will re-mortgage to C&I in a couple of years when we both progressed up the pay scales.

I know I shouldn't but the deals are too good on this and I love the house. Just wondered if anyone local knew of a good reason to not bite.

All opinions greatly recieved.

Thanks guys.

Hello again Teacher Tim

I looked at the Birkenshaw area as well. South of the motorway there are some fine houses and the Bronte links with Red Hall and Oakwell Hall and the estate is trading on this. A lot of houses being flipped so perhaps you are seeing the sales that were to 'investors'. Couple of homes up for rent so still transient estate as well. This is common to a lot of the new build estates around here, yours in the Shires, Meadowbrooks in Morley, Suffields in Gildersome. I think the postcode is a factor to watch as well. I have a friend who lives in the nicer part of East Bierley but suffers extra loadings on her insurance for her car, house, etc., as it is lumped in with all the South Bradford sink estates.