House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Bingley Bloke

Buying Overpriced Property Isn't Hard Enough Yet, I Fear

Despite my bearish sentiments about property, I feel we may be in for a bit of a wait yet before prices really tumble. Here's why...

On my wage I can borrow £59,500 which, when combined with my savings, amounts to about £70,000. This won't get me anything, but £120,000 including a loan od £110,000 (6.47 x my salary) would actually get me somewhere half-decent where I live, and I could afford it too. Here's how...

I borrow £110,000 on a ten-year fixed rate deal of 4.99% currently offered by the Halifax. This would give me a monthly repayment, on interest only, of £457.42. I'm an expert when it comes to living cheap so saving £250/month would be possible, though tight, and if I did this for ten years I would end up with approximately £35,000 saved up. When the fixed interest deal came to an end I could use these savings to pay off £35,000 of the debt and continue with a mortgage of £75,000. I don't know what interest rates will be by then but even at 7.25% the repayments on a £75,000 mortgage would be slightly less than the £457.42 I'd been paying for the last ten years. Then I'd start saving again and do the same after another ten years, leaving me with a mortgage of just £40,000 which would then be small enough to be completed as a repayment mortgage rather than interest only as my wage should be significantly higher.

Of course, soaring energy costs are likely to make things a bit more complicated than that, but I feel it's still too easy to buy property right now. Even I can do it!!

Edited by Bingley Bloke

Thats why credit tightening by banks will be key in making the house of cards collapse.

There are a number of reasons this bubble has gotten out of control... a key one of them bing stupid people.

If stupid people can borrow enough to buy, they have adequately demonstrated (over the last few years) that they will do so.