House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
EGardener

Rental Price Crash In Wandsworth

Hi,

I'm new to this pragmatic site, and this is my introductory post...

It was only one year ago when I wanted to rent in Wandsworth (Putney/Earsfield/Southfields area) and my requirements were rather "modest"

- one bed

- off street parking

- decent kitchen

- furnished

- Not a ex-authority property

- No more than 1000 GBP PCM (Including Council Tax)

It was very hard to come across any property that could meet this criteria. I had even found a couple of properties in Foxtons, they invented me see them but once I got in the "mini" I was told by the agent that I those properties had problems and that I would be presented with other ones instead. One of properties was what I call "a glorified studio flat" (they create an extra room by putting a wall and remove all furniture to make it look big, "the landlord will provide the forniture once you move" in I was told). Fortuantely, in metric countries we take area, area, area a lot in consideration, not just location, location, location, and laminated floors can't compensate for what is really is TRUE LACK OF LIVING SPACE, that flat must have been 26 sq mt. Then I was presented with another one which was "OK" but it didn't look like it could cost less than 1000 GBP.

The agent didn't want to give me a price, she asked instead whether I liked the properties, after a couple of days I got the "quotes", 1200 for the so called "one bedroom" flat, and 1300 for the other "decent" one.

What a dissapointment. In the end I managed to get hold of a flat in Southfields that would only be freed in two months time, and the price was low to rent quickly in order to avoid void periods. (920 pcm)