House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
?...!

Power Cuts

Had a spate of brief power cuts last night!

The lights dimmed on about half a dozen separate occasions, actually fizzing out once for about 30 seconds at 6 o’clock, sounding burglar alarms and plunging the streets into darkness.

A sign of things to come?

Are rising energy prices a bid to reduce demand?

Just how close are we to maximum capacity?

Strangely enough I work as an energy trader (for a very big european utility) and the system was actually fairly comfortable last night so I would guess this was a locational issue (i.e. some lines or a transformer went down in your area) rather than a national one. Rising energy prices aren't a specific bid to reduce demand, they reflect the fact that the marginal MWh is getting more expensive as we slowly get sqaushed between rising demand and irratic production from old plant. However, unless we get some very cold weather, combined plant outages and trouble in the gas market (which granted, isn't hugely unlikely) things are a generally a long way from blackout territory - the system operator has a fairly large margin to play with in terms of system frequency (i.e. your lights go brown) on top of plant capacity.

Post 2010 is when things will really start to bite.

However, unless we get some very cold weather, combined plant outages and trouble in the gas market (which granted, isn't hugely unlikely)

I believe that the Rough gas storage terminal is going to be off-line for a month due to a fire.

There are some figures in this thread on another forum trying to gauge the significance of this:

http://www.powerswitch.org.uk/forum/viewto...t=1752&start=15

Peter.

It's good to know last night was not down to lack of power across the grid.

Bit unusual though I think it’s the first time I have experienced a power cut in the absence of storms and works

I believe that the Rough gas storage terminal is going to be off-line for a month due to a fire.