House Price Crash Forum
pessimistic

I'm Not An Economist But...

Hi all,

This is my first post. I don't own a house and i'm not going to insult your combined experence and ask you when I should buy one (I have been lurking). I am in the military and have been serving overseas for three years living rent free ;) . "Not bad" you say but the flat was shit by anyones standards. Ok, I'm moving back home in a month and I've now got a kid.

As I said I am not an economist but I figure this. If everyone is stretched for repaying a mortgage that thay cannot possible afford, then how can these people carry on proping up the economy in the high street. One day the banks will pull in the credit cards and the middle class will have no more money to to spend. Result total economic meltdown.

I know i'm being pessimistic but i'm not an expert in being a bull or a bear.

Totally correct. Some of the so-called experts are so bogged-down in details that they fail to see what's obvious to someone who takes a relatively casual view from outside.

Irresponsible mortgages taken out when interest rates were at rock-bottom are coming to the end of their 'low for the first few years' deals and utility bills are soaring at many times the rate of inflation. People have to pay their mortgages and they need gas and electricity and are forced by law to pay for their water and council tax... So it's everything else, mainly the high street, that suffers because the first thing folk do is stop buying stuff they don't need and buy cheaper versions of life's little necessities such as soap, washing-up liquid, bathroom cleaner, etc.

. If everyone is stretched for repaying a mortgage that thay cannot possible afford, then how can these people carry on proping up the economy in the high street.

Reason why retail is currently being upset at lack of sales is mostly to do with all disposable incomes being disposed of in Bricks & Mortar Ball & Chain Mortgages

Go Figure!

;)

Guest Winners and Losers