House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Father Fred

Halifax House Price Index

I am currently studying a property related degree. Today a lecturer was discussing house prices indices, relative strengths and weaknesses etc.

Anyway, apparently one of our former students did his dissertation a couple of years ago, and as part of it looked into various indices, who uses them and for what purposes. It turns out that the Halifax don't even use their own index when assessing risk for lending (he didn't tell us what they do use).

Relates back to the BBC and their reference to the mortgage lenders indices... why on earth are they advertising the Halifax by reference to figures published by their PR department, when the Halifax themselves don't even use them?

I'd love to track down the dissertation and if I do I'll add further info here.

It should be in the University library whereever he did his thesis. If its a masters / honours / doctorate since it is traditional that the university demand a copy to lodged there for posterity (there must be a basement somewhere with all of the first second and third rate thesis ever written piled to the ceiling just waiting for a match!)

I am currently studying a property related degree. Today a lecturer was discussing house prices indices, relative strengths and weaknesses etc.

Anyway, apparently one of our former students did his dissertation a couple of years ago, and as part of it looked into various indices, who uses them and for what purposes. It turns out that the Halifax don't even use their own index when assessing risk for lending (he didn't tell us what they do use).

Relates back to the BBC and their reference to the mortgage lenders indices... why on earth are they advertising the Halifax by reference to figures published by their PR department, when the Halifax themselves don't even use them?