House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Badger

What Not To Say To Ea

Bloke next to me at work is aware of possible HPC but going ahead with househunting anyway. He viewed a house and the EA later asked him ' What do you think it's worth then?' He didn't take the opportunity to say something sensible like its really over priced or generally make negative noises about crash etc, oh no. He said 'Well I think its worth the asking price' :o:( The EA said in response 'What, reeally?' :blink: I informed my colleague with consumate self control that he had shot himself in the foot, that nothing is worth the asking price at the moment & he'd missed the opportunity to talk the market down. With buyers as dumb as this, who needs VI's? :rolleyes:

Edited by Badger

The thing is that these buyers are surely becoming the exception to the rule.

I'm not so sure. I'm a contractor and ive worked in a couple of offices over the last 8 months or so and from what i've seen people genuinely don't think about it very much at all. Worked with a few people who were buying places and there didn't seem to be much negotiating going on. I live in the West Mids and i think you can start to see prices coming down a bit if you do some research but people seem happy to get a couple of grand off and talk about it as though they've restructured the third world debt. They're so relieved to "BE ON THE LADDER" (its a new religious chant) that they dont seem to think about it too much.

I really believe that until the Mail or the Sun has a headline "Oops" people wont believe that prices can come down. I've almost given up talking to people about house prices - no ones interested.