House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
RightToExistInASpace

Rent Is Not Dead Money?

I’m a touch confused. I’ll have to admit that I’m no economics expert, but I can’t really understand the mantra of “rent is not dead money”. Surely rent is always dead money? That is, you’re paying out a huge amount each month which amounts to nothing other than supplying a roof over your head for that month and that month alone.

If you can get a 15 year fixed rate mortgage and live in a place you will be happy in, what is the argument for renting? In my area, it would actually be cheaper to get a mortgage with the Nationwide and buy a one bedroom flat than to rent one! Let’s face it, maintenance costs in a flat are not going to be enormous are they?

The fact is, we just cannot be sure of a house price crash and renting whilst waiting for prices to fall is a huge, potentially life-destroying gamble for anyone but those who are already rather well endowed financially.

Maybe I’m thick and just need it spelt out to me in simple terms but I think that if we all rented, we’d be shooting ourselves in the foot as we’d be adding to the viability of BTL investments by increasing the demand for rented property!

If there really was a house price crash, is negative equity such a big deal, as long as you can keep up your repayments? If you want to then move up on the ladder, is it any harder than when you have positive equity? Do banks really not allow you to move unless you have positive equity? What happened in these instances in the crash of 1989?

I would love there to be a house price crash and to be able to buy a house for a reasonable sum, but I’m really not convinced that this will happen. Maybe these are stupid questions, but I just don’t get it. Sorry :unsure: