House Price Crash Forum

Working from home dies a death - remote switches to hybrid... lots of people in trouble because of unworkable commutes

I work in finance/tech sector so know alot of people who previously worked in big offices in city centres. Anyway, something's happened...

The "work from home forever" crowd who no doubt moved well beyond commutable distance are now being told "hybrid working" is the future with 3-days per week in the office... except they're buggered because they are living hours away - sometimes without transport connections (and where they exist they can be a tad expensive). 

That changed faster than I was expective... Within my circle of a couple of hundred I know half a dozen who are already in trouble. I hate to say it by Kirsty was right! 

• Replies 493
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My office (not in the UK) has informed me that people in the office will currently have to wear a mask at all times, unless they have their own personal office and are alone!

Was complaining about home office, but maybe I will try to spin it out a bit longer.

If an employer wants someone to work so many days per week in a certain place they often will pay more to cover for the rent for two or three nights a week away from home......there are many people with a spare bedroom who would be happy to rent it out for an extra income tax free two or three weekdays a week.....win,win.;)

Maybe to an extent, but 2-3 days a week commute is still vastly different to 5. I used to do 2 hour commutes each way, 5 days a week - I wouldn't any more. I think I could handle 2 days a week if I had to. It still makes a big difference.

Edit to add: I would never have bet on fully remote anyway, at least not to the extent of upping sticks and moving out of commutable range. Some sort of hybrid arrangement always seemed the most likely outcome to me.

Edited by mattyboy1973