Sign in to follow this  
beenhearingthisforyears

Another View

Today, 5:40 PM

maxp

Joined on 30 Apr 2005

North West

Posts 82

.. should I really be bothered where house prices go ..

From Singing pig: start quote

"This may seem like a silly question, but forgive me as I am a relative novice when it come to owning my home (bought it about 10 months ago), I am not wealthy enough to have a BTL, so I just have my own home and that’s the only asset other than my cash savings and oh I guess my car! I’ve got a repayment mortgage, which is bringing the balance down every month. So why should I actually be bothered if prices go UP or down? I am not planning to move soon, and if I move I assume whichever way house prices go they will go the same way where I live (I’m not likely to want to move out of my area) so as long as I repay the mortgage and therefore avoid landing in neg equity in the unlikely event that prices fall here, what’s wrong with a bigger place that I might want to move to, dropping in price too? If prices rise then they all rise together, so what would be the advantage?

Should I become a bear instead and start hoping for gentle falls so I can afford that bigger house sooner rather than later?" end quote

****please note: not my post , but interesting to see a different take on the subject.

Edited by beenhearingthisforyears

I'm not sure this is a new take to be honest.

But it is good to see that some FTB's are weighing up the options carefuly (at least I hope that this person did so before buying, and not because they are now worried).

If they have bought a place that they can live in, raise a family in (assuming they want to) and not move until the mortgage is paid off - then it might work out (I remember a thread on here where somebody actually did the calculations).

... So why should I actually be bothered if prices go UP or down? ...

... If prices rise then they all rise together, so what would be the advantage? ...