House Price Crash Forum
ajh

Cpi Calculations

From time to time the government VI's argue that food and fuel etc. are left out of the CPI basket because the prices fluctuate, and to include them would give an unstable calculation.

THAT'S RUBBISH

I work in IT, and the very first (mainframe COBOL) system I worked on was a supply system. I remember personally writing some of the code which predicted demand going forward, and from the predictions generated purchase/resupply recommendations. This was 25 years ago.

There were and are fairly simple algorithms based on past statistics, which are specifically designed to smooth out spiky values, and at the same time recognise genuine trends. It would not be hard to add suitably smoothed food/fuel numbers to the CPI.

From time to time the government VI's argue that food and fuel etc. are left out of the CPI basket because the prices fluctuate, and to include them would give an unstable calculation.

If you know so much about CPI and statistics, then how come you are ignorant of what's in and what is not in the CPI? Food and fuel are definitely in there. Try http://www.statistics.gov.uk.

T&T

If you know so much about CPI and statistics, then how come you are ignorant of what's in and what is not in the CPI? Food and fuel are definitely in there. Try http://www.statistics.gov.uk.

T&T

Regardless, everyone knows that the real rate of inflation is 6-8% as experienced by your average man on the street.

The basket of goods is lacking in a few fundamental items and the statistics are fiddled by 'Crash' Gordon Brown.

CPI is not 2% by a long stretch - Liars

T&T

Oops, I should have been clearer. I was thinking about the pronouncements (which may be more prevalent here in Australia and in the US than in the UK) that the core rate excluding food & fuel is more accurate than the headline CPI when I ranted.

But many argue they should be left out, focussing on 'core' items.