House Price Crash Forum

I'm thinking of giving up on work

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have a house deposit that is large enough to not need to work for about 5 years.

I have schizophrenia so I am quite ill, I'm thinking of jacking in work and just living off benefits when my cash runs out.

What do you think?

I'm a software engineer. I will stay on top of things in the industry.

No disrespect to you but I do not feel that you should be asking this type of advice on this forum. I’d urge you to speak to someone totally independent about your current situation. One of my good friends was schizophrenic and he ended up taking his life early last year. Please do not make any rash decisions and seek professional help. My DM is open if you would like any pointers to mental health resources. 

If you want to do it, do it carefully. Maybe you need a sabbatical year. It's better you do it by yourself before you are forced to do it because you broke down. 

Be smart, reduce your outgoings and since you are in a good position give yourself no limit. 

If you like coding, then please keep a github alive and do things you like. One year may be enough to sort you out

No disrespect to you but I do not feel that you should be asking this type of advice on this forum. I’d urge you to speak to someone totally independent about your current situation. One of my good friends was schizophrenic and he ended up taking his life early last year. Please do not make any rash decisions and seek professional help. My DM is open if you would like any pointers to mental health resources. 

I've been through the suicidal phase with one suicide attempt. Now I'm looking out for myself, how to live the best possible life with a terrible illness.

I think people work for too little money with what they have to put up with. So I'm thinking of giving up on work and living off savings.