House Price Crash Forum

Home ownership has just caused a huge rift in my family

My aunt, a single parent with 3 kids, works full time as a teacher at a private school. She earns 40k a year. Historically she rented with an alcoholic ex-husband. When they eventually split my grandparents bought her a house on a buy to let so she had somewhere to live and rented it to her at cost so she only had to pay the interest on the mortgage. 

It's been a few years now and she has finally divorced her husband, and has the idea of home ownership in her head. She wants to sell where she currently lives, take all of the equity and buy a detached house on her own for herself and her kids. 

Well the issue is capital gains tax. I'm a chartered accountant myself, 2 exams away from being a chartered tax advisor. It's fair to say I know a bit about capital gains tax, I deal with it regularly. I did a small rough calculation on how much tax she would have to pay (because my grandparents own the property) and what would be left over to buy a property by herself - assuming my grandparents were willing to just gift her all of the deposit and the equity leftover after tax.

I then explained she will only get 4.5x her salary on a mortgage, and combine that with all of the equity she could afford a house that costs 300k, which is 200k short of her dream home of 500k.

She has just accused me of trying to hold her back in her life, I'm 'dividing the family', I'm lying about the tax and I don't know what I'm talking about. Her current boyfriend suggested she talk to a financial advisor (like he is going to know anything about tax). I took great offense at her attack on my character, and argued my case. It just didn't seem to get through. She stormed off crying. 

Tldr; HPI breaks down families 

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

10 hours ago, MuayThai18 said: