House Price Crash Forum

Apologies if there's already a thread covering this.....

Explicitly though, what are people's current experiences/anecdotes of being approached/seeing jobs advertised at the moment.

I'm definitely hearing a significant drop off in the salaries being offered in my area (software, Cambridgeshire) by recruiters approaching me at the moment.

For example there was a big rise late 2018-2020 where 65-80k was often the pitch for the sort of roles they'd approach me for. This was partially I believe down to the trashing of GBP after the referendum vote which made UK engineers extremely cheap for US firms. Its dropped right back down to 40-60k, which is more 2016-2017.

Anyone experiencing similar? Obvs can be at any end of the income spectrum....plenty of jobs might be being forced right down to minimum wage.

Edited by Frugal Git

I am a contractor in telecoms and I would say a drop off of 50% in contact with recruiters.

I was asked to take a 10% drop in April but refused...I am still working for my pre covid rate.

Permys (those not furloughed) at the organization were given a 10% pay cut.

That along with Increases in saving, paying off debt has made me of the opinion that we will be experiencing Deflation over the next couple of years...at least until they can fire up the printers.

20 minutes ago, Roman Roady said:

I am a contractor in telecoms and I would say a drop off of 50% in contact with recruiters.

I was asked to take a 10% drop in April but refused...I am still working for my pre covid rate.

Permys (those not furloughed) at the organization were given a 10% pay cut.

That along with Increases in saving, paying off debt has made me of the opinion that we will be experiencing Deflation over the next couple of years...at least until they can fire up the printers.