House Price Crash Forum

"Christ" will the save the summer six prevent the Jobopocalypse?

As mentioned on this forum if the hospitality sector dos not open by July millions are going to loose their jobs.

3.5 million people apparently and thus a schism is opening in government. 

Logically R rate rising = no opening given previous statements.

I dont think many folk are going to take granny/grandad out for a large family Christmas dinner this year so if the summer is lost then that + furlough ending result in.  A mothball and open when you can be sure of it and rules are less costly (next year?) or B throw in the towel (especially if leased premises).

As a business owner i find myself watching the protests and thinking whats the chances that I am going to have to let all my staff go because unless the virus has burned out this surely has to raise the R value?

Or

Do the protest signal the end of lockdown as if nobody gives two shits its better to have those folks distracted by working and spending rather than protesting.

I dont envy those in charge at the moment.

Edited by Fromage Frais

Giving the hospitality sector the green light means the government can absolve itself of bail out duties. The fact that very few people are going to rush back out to these businesses, or that these businesses simply won't be able to operate profitably under social distancing guidelines will become their problem. A simplistic take, probably, but I think the government are damned if they do and damned if they don't. Hospitality is going to struggle badly for at least the rest of this year. Most pubs and restaurants operate on fine margins already, and simply won't be able to make ends meet if they are forced to operate at 50% capacity or less. That's assuming you can even fill the 50%.

7 minutes ago, Fromage Frais said:

Do the protest signal the end of lockdown as if nobody gives two shits its better to have those folks distracted by working and spending rather than protesting.