House Price Crash Forum

HPC timeline  

42 members have voted

1. 1. When do you expect a house price crash?

• Beyond 2025

Looking at the current economic situation, my expectation is that we should have a housing crash within 2 years perhaps as a result of Brexit induced recession or global slowdown. In my view it is the low interest rates that are keeping the debt affordable for now but day of reckoning should come.

What are your thoughts?

Without being too silly about it, can you define what you mean by "a housing crash"?

Because if you mean "a 12-18 month period in which house prices decline by 10% or more" then I don't think there's likely to be one at all in the next 5 years.  Instead, I see the situation more like Japan where we they have 15-20 years of slow declines and prices going nowhere.

I've been saying every year since 2009 (when i got married) .... just you wait till next year .... we'll be able to buy a house!

I started to get optimistic last year, but there now seems to be a lot of kite flying, pent up demand and people happy to pay stupid prices. Very low volumes though .... and sales could still fall through (fingers crossed).

3 hours ago, scottbeard said:

Without being too silly about it, can you define what you mean by "a housing crash"?

Because if you mean "a 12-18 month period in which house prices decline by 10% or more" then I don't think there's likely to be one at all in the next 5 years.  Instead, I see the situation more like Japan where we they have 15-20 years of slow declines and prices going nowhere.

Yes I meant exactly that 10% decline in house prices over 12-18 months.

It is a possible we may be entering a long-term stagnation eta but my understanding is that in Japan there was a stock market and housing crash before the 2 decades of zero growth period began.

6 hours ago, scottbeard said:

My guess is our economy becomes a Japanese like zombie economy