House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
b_real

Bangin the rent up

Who here gets their rent banged up every f****n year?

I've been renting current place for 5 years, and had a rise for every single one of them. The increase has been around 3% every year:

Year % increase
2014            -
2015 2.56%
2016 2.50%
2017 2.91%
2018 2.83%
2019 3.64%

This may seem like a small amount every year but its higher than inflation, higher than my wage has been increasing, and totals around a 14% increase over the period. This is really starting to grind my bloody gears, particularly the size of the latest one. The reason for the increase is "to keep in line with the market".

The landlord is an actual lord of some sort who owns pretty much all the properties in my area. I rent it through a lettings company, who basically do everything to stop the landlord having to speak to us.  I've been a good tenant throughout the period, no missed payments, keep the place in good nick etc., they inspect regularly. I've been on a rolling month to month tenancy since the end of my first year in the place (i.e. 2015). 

Is there anything I can do to refuse this latest increase, that is not a section 13 tribunal? I'm not sure if the tribunal would be in my favour, I'm in Cambridge and the rental market is f*****g nuts. Or would even the threat of a tribunal work in my favour?

Or do I just have to suck this up like the plebeian I am.

Go back to the managing agent and say that the raise is above inflation and see how they react to that.  Whilst you wait for their response, Invest in pitchforks, tumbril's and guillotine's.

Does your local council have anyone who deals with private rentals? When I was living in London my council had 2 staff members who helped with disputes? If so they may be willing to talk to the agent or LL as over time your rental has had above inflation rises.

Sorry not to have better ideas. 

Tomorrow... WE MARCH!!!