House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

humble_pie

Day for an Electronic Engineer having 9 Years of Experience

I graduated with BENG Hons in Electronics about 9 years ago. I been mainly working on payee roles so far. Now I am thinking of doing contracting. I cannot figure out what sort of daily rates I can demand. I am based in London. Have wide range of experiences in my field and a lot of past roles to backup my claims. 

I have experiences in Electronics, embedded, pcb and firmware development.

So just wanted to get other peoples views on this.

Can you look at what agencies are offering for such roles?     Maybe estimate the amount of time you'll be in work and out of work (if thats possible) and set you rate the same as your present salary is per day but bumped up to at least cover those nonworking periods.

If you get it too low you can always nudge it up for the next contract as each is presumably only temporary anyway.

2 hours ago, humble_pie said:

I graduated with BENG Hons in Electronics about 9 years ago. I been mainly working on payee roles so far. Now I am thinking of doing contracting. I cannot figure out what sort of daily rates I can demand. I am based in London. Have wide range of experiences in my field and a lot of past roles to backup my claims. 

Have you checked out some of the job sites? I used to use jobsite.co.uk quite a bit when I was looking for contracts.

https://www.jobsite.co.uk/

You can filter on contracts, so you can get an idea of daily rates. There may be much better sites now given how quickly the web changes.

However, since you're switching from employee work to contract work it means you have no contracting experience. So my advice would be to not expect too much in terms of a daily rate for your first contract. Once you've got 6 months under your belt, either as a single stint or 2 shorter ones, you will be in a much better position.