House Price Crash Forum
Smiley George

Small-businesses-at-risk-from-house-price-fall - The Times

Doesn't look like anyone has picked up on this yet so thought I'd share - https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/small-businesses-at-risk-from-house-price-fall-2qmknt8dt

Premise is that a lot of small businesses may struggle in HPC because loans have been secured against the owners home. I'm a business owner and can't even buy my own family home, never mind secure funds against it, so as you can imagine the article wound me up somewhat.

Surely the best thing for small businesses would be the dramatic increase in spending power consumers would have if HP's returned to 3.5 - 4 x earnings. I admit there will be casualties along the way, however everyones a willing participant and all that, and maybe securing a business loan against one's own home is not necessarily displaying the best business acumen in the first place.

52 minutes ago, Locke said:

Tick, Fleas: "If you take a bath, we may drop off and die"

The Times would then run a story with the headline - Fleas complain about unfairness of parasite removal measures ...oh hang on 🤔

9 hours ago, Smiley George said:

Doesn't look like anyone has picked up on this yet so thought I'd share - https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/small-businesses-at-risk-from-house-price-fall-2qmknt8dt

Premise is that a lot of small businesses may struggle in HPC because loans have been secured against the owners home. I'm a business owner and can't even buy my own family home, never mind secure funds against it, so as you can imagine the article wound me up somewhat.