House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  

Did we dodge a bullet?

Hola amigos, newbie here. Been following HPC but never really had much to contribute, guess now I do

So after a long and painful search we finally found something and made a conditional offer on a new development outside London in Zone 7, the condition being developer SDLT contribution. The offer was readily accepted and so we began the proceedings.

Everything was going smoothly until Mr. Hammond struck last week in the budget, seemingly for FTBs but clearly in favour of his builder and bank pals. Our distraught developer called us back, thru the (his?) EA, to let us know that his SDLT contribution would now be £5k less since we have "room for £5k" and should be generous enough to let him on it.

Now we really liked the property and were about 80% thru with the buying process having spent money upfront on solicitors, surveryors valuation etc.  The prospect of losing the property at this stage seemed scary.

Nevertheless, we asked for a bit of time. Called the EA and offered to split, got a "NO" straight back. So we bluffed that we might not go ahead, only to be called and told back that developer has a higher offer on the table, your move.

OK so we'd been looking forward to buying a home while they've been trying to get higher offers using ours as a benchmark. Borderline legal but 100% immoral.

Granted we liked the property but on second thoughts, it is not even in London, way overpriced for what it is and we probably offered too much. Inflation is on the up, wage increments minimal, £ on the decline, interest rates - should be a lot higher but will likely stay down unless they want to bring this house of cards down so we thought did we want that mortgage of 10x earnings hanging over us for the rest of our lives?