House Price Crash Forum

Hi all,

I've been renting a house for the last 18 months and the AST expires at the end of this month. The landlord is trying to sell up (tax changes have him stuffed lol) and he wants me to sign a new 1 year AST with a break clause where either myself or him can terminate the contract with two months notice. 

Does anyone know if that break clause would be enforceable by him within the first 6 months of the new contract? I've read that you can't be evicted within the first six months of an AST but I haven't been able to find out if that still applies to a renewed AST.

Thanks!

Given the information you added elsewhere why does he want a new AST signed - assuming you are happy with that just move to a rolling agreement which allows him to give you 2 months notice - otherwise insist on a 6 month AST during which time he can't serve notice. Am I correct in guessing there is an agent involved here who wants some easy money....

Oh and if he's trying to increase rent suggest to him you may start looking...

1 hour ago, skrillex said:

Hi all,

I've been renting a house for the last 18 months and the AST expires at the end of this month. The landlord is trying to sell up (tax changes have him stuffed lol) and he wants me to sign a new 1 year AST with a break clause where either myself or him can terminate the contract with two months notice. 

Does anyone know if that break clause would be enforceable by him within the first 6 months of the new contract? I've read that you can't be evicted within the first six months of an AST but I haven't been able to find out if that still applies to a renewed AST.

Thanks!

Just a thought, he may be trying to sell it as a BTL with a sitting reliable tenant but with the option of vacant possession if that's all he can get, cake and eat it......

Thanks for the replies, Yes an agent is involved and it's the agent who has been pestering me about the new contract.