House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Mapatasy

Jumpers...

I've always been interested in economic cycles and remember watching a documentary 20-25 years ago that revealed (or at least proposed) that this iconic belief that we hold regarding the poor chaps that chucked themselves out of skyscrapers etc during the 20's crash is incorrect and that the large majority of 'jumpers' weren't the investors that didn't see the crash coming... they were mostly a collection of the more savvy investors who had, in fact, seen the storm on the horizon - patiently waited and after things looked like they had bottomed out took not only everything they had but everything their families, friends, friends of friends etc, etc had and jumped 'head first' into the deep end without their arm bands in the absolute belief that things 'couldn't get any worse'...

Ooops!

I've been saying for many years that after the crash starts and before we see any meaningful correction - things will appear to move slowly whilst the sideline money (the stupidity prop) is spent out... is this what we are beginning to witness now through early data like this?

https://www.propertyinvestortoday.co.uk/breaking-news/2017/8/first-time-buyers-are-currently-supporting-the-uk-housing-market

Beginning to see more and more articles like this all the time and I'm wondering if this could be an indication that the 'slightly smarter dumb money' (that has been waiting on the sidelines) is cashing out and snapping up 'bargains'?

I'm being told by Conveyancers and EAs, that my wife very much respects, that mostly all completions at play at the moment are taking place in cash. They are all 'freaking out' it would seem.

a while back we were warned that we were talking ourselves into a recession, now everyone wants to talk about the coming recession. Expect houses to halve in value, so these cash buyers will be 'hopping madders' if not actual 'jumpers'.  

5 hours ago, Mapatasy said: