House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rantnrave

Strong Internal Candidate - No Interview Given

Hi all,

Could do with some objective thoughts on a situation at work.

A few months ago, a colleague announced unexpectedly that she was stepping down – spend more time with the family etc (her young daughter is struggling a lot with school and more). The position is one I’ve long coveted, but certainly didn’t anticipate being available. Two other co-workers soon after said I should apply, would be a very strong candidate etc – without me even raising the subject.

To my amazement, they advertised the role in August and with a week before the deadline, an internal memo from HR mentioned that interest in the vacancy had been surprisingly low. This all sounded very encouraging, so I got my application in. Taking nothing for granted, I ensured my career details referenced all the relevant criteria. I have some very unusual background experience which the role requires and is very hard to find – it’s a very powerful ace in my hand of cards.

Found out yesterday that I haven’t even been shortlisted for interview – apparently the quality of the applicants they received was far higher than anticipated (so they must have all leapt out of the woodwork at the last minute??). Am utterly and completely stumped. I have of course politely asked for some feedback of specifically where I fell short. I can’t help but feel it’s the name at the top of the application form and somebody in the decision process has a grudge / isn’t keen on me.

Any thoughts, similar experience? What should I do next, if anything?

Appreciate any comments

RnR

If you like your job, nothing.

If this makes you unhappy at work, look for something else.

Whatever you do, don't rush into anything.

Office politics can be evil, but you just have to rise above it or the only person to suffer will be you.

3 minutes ago, Option5 said: