House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

developer

Employment VS Entrepreneurship in the UK

I have noticed there is an increasingly large disconnect between the power of capital and labour in our current financial system. I am going to use my own experiences in software development to give my opinion on this topic.

As a software developer I know my skills can be monetized directly within certain markets by developing applications that serve a certain purpose. Yet looking at job adverts most developers are only earning in the 30-50k range in this country.

I was recently considering moving to Japan to work as a developer there but I was surprised to discover most of the development jobs require foreign applicants to speak very good Japanese regardless of the applicant's skill as a developer. And the jobs that don't require Japanese are fiercely competitive. If software development is such a useful skill by itself then why all these language requirements? Usually, these companies have staff with good English speaking skills to make up for that issue. Perhaps the issue is software development is no more special than any other field with an ever increasing amount of labor competing for the same jobs.

If you consider that a good application or a reasonably simple game in certain niches can earn anywhere from 500k to millions of pounds, there seems to be a large disconnect between the value a good developer provides and the monetary compensation.

I can only conclude that in our capitalist system simply having skills such as engineering skills (in this case software) does not by itself reward a person. You have to be a capitalist to be truly rewarded, create your own product or service and join the market directly. This disconnect between capitalist and labour income is increasing every year at an exponential rate.