House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

200p

Edd China leaves Wheeler Dealers!

The new owners of the show are at odds with the format - this is against his morals, as they want to dumb it down.

He could make his own show easily with a camcorder, he already has 100K subscribers with hardly any videos on his channel. He has the most important thing already - the know how in fixing cars!

It barely makes sense. They started making quality content with a small team. Have been able to grow and justify having a huge team due to stunning viewing numbers (it's on terrestrial TV in Spain for example) but now they want to cut production costs?

Sounds like they just want to Americanise it and make it like Fast 'n' Loud (Gas Monkey).

I never realised that it's been going on since 2002. :blink:

I quite enjoy watching it on Quest whenever I can catch it. And I'm no engineer. I particularly liked the Citroen DS episode. ;)

Although I have little interest in cars, I did enjoy the sections in Edd's implausibly well-equipped workshop where he took stuff apart and fixed it. It's closer to my clumsy attempts at car maintenance than any other show, particularly in the early episodes where he actually got things wrong sometimes. I hope he can start making a similar TV show.

One of the few TV shows of the 'reality' type that I actually love watching - as it doesn't patronise, you always learn something new, and Edd knows his stuff.

Always used to miss the first 10-15 mins of WD - ie the Brewer part. Seemed a nice enough chap with his cheeky "go on, shake my hand" routine, week in week out. But I watched the show for Edd and his clearly unscripted efforts. The show was clearly "proper real" in that regard.

When I did get around to watching the show start to finish, frankly I was Brewered-out.

I'm afraid for me the show IS Edd. Sorry Mike. Sorry WD.