House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ash4781

'Smart' Lighting

Has anyone gone down the route of smart lighting integration?  I have been looking at the Philips Hue setup but the kits are very expensive and don't appear simple to setup e.g. the lightstrip is £70 plus you need the hub / bridge to your network  which then connects to your phone / computer / Alexa/ Google home/ whatever (why you need a Philips hub I do not know). Then there are dimmer switches to add to the system but these can apparently pair directly to the bulbs and the lightstrips. Is it just early days so is a mess of different standards / protocols ? I am quite tempted to look at this because I switched the house to LED's but hav no dimmer switchses

I'm a time-served electrician who has to fix this crap when it goes wrong.

My own house still has standard light switches, with retrofit LEDs in the standard fittings. Oh there's a dimmer in the kitchen :lol:

1 hour ago, chronyx said:

My own house still has standard light switches, with retrofit LEDs in the standard fittings. Oh there's a dimmer in the kitchen :lol:

I looked at the Philips hue bulbs on the net, just out of curiosity. It seemed to me that they were as dim as feck.

I've just fitted 15W LED bulbs (100W equivalent, 2700k) all around the house. Not the most economical 100w equivalents as I think you can now get 13.5W bulbs, but at just £4.00 each from Morrisons they are great and much better than the CFLs they replaced.

I looked at this stuff a few years back by reading loads of reviews on Amazon. Lots of good info that basically put me off. Also learnt that this stuff regularly has big discounts on Amazon so best to time when one of the sales is on.

8 hours ago, Riedquat said:

The advantages over standard light switches strike me as very negligable, what's the point?

9 hours ago, chronyx said: