House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

InlikeFlynn

Learning Python

I'm starting to learn Python for fun.  I have no computer science background, although I am a scientist and  learnt Basic as a teenager, writing programs for my ZX Spectrum (showing my age!).

Before I get too far into it I wanted to pick the collective mind of OT.

I've been enjoying using the free "Learn Python the Hard Way" website, but this is based on Python 2.7 and I'm beginning to think that Python 3 might be a better place to start.  Is this correct?

Can anyone recommend good (preferably free) resources to learn from.

Many thanks

I don't know anything about Python (I'm sure someone else here will be able to help) - but I do program for a living - what's re-ignited your interest in it? Is there anything in particular that you want to create?

Learn Python3. Its mainly the same, just some language warts hacked off.

Most of the changes are in the hidden class/object model.

Python2 is holding out in some stubborn areas - odds + sods extension packages. Odoo being the most annoying for me.

In answer to Joe, I'd guess his interest is that python is more + more dominant in the number crunching and science. For most researchers is a 'need to' rather than a 'like to'. Mainly due to NumPy.

Most of my casual programming and odds + sods. Its quite remarkable how useless the language and bundled frameworks and libraries are.

I cannot understand why anyone who bangs on about obecjt-orientated languages then goes off and uses a static typed one - C++ or Java..

6 minutes ago, spyguy said:

In answer to Joe, I'd guess his interest is that python is more + more dominant in the number crunching and science. For most researchers is a 'need to' rather than a 'like to'. Mainly due to NumPy.

Ah ok cool - mate of mine did a bit of programming as part of his PhD and it was Python that he used actually.

1 minute ago, JoeDavola said: