House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
EnglishinWales

Flat for rent and sale at same time?

Good morning all, I just joined the forum today.

I'm a long-term renter currently living in Ruthin, North Wales. I was born in the 80s so although I have lots of renting experience I don't have much knowledge of how housing bubbles work since as far back as I can remember they have been rising.

Lots of things going on right now are confusing; not least this 2 bedroom flat in town that is both up for sale and rent at the same time. I can't understand the reasoning behind this as any tenant will be put off by the prospect of being given notice just 4 months into a tenancy. The sale price doesn't appear to have been reduced and the for let listing has been there for about 6 weeks. Why would the agent put it up for both sale and rent simultaneously? Why would you want a tenant if you're trying to sell?

Is this a sign that EAs and LLs are becoming more desperate. Is it a BTLer trying to sell to another BTLer with a sitting tenant?

Or is this actually fairly common and I just haven't noticed until now??

Thanks 

This practice has been going on in my area since at lease the financial crisis of 2008.

If the owner can't get a greater fool to pay over the odds to buy the flat then they're thinking 'just rent it out, innit?' . Cash in the pocket one way or the other.

Can't understand the thinking. No sensible tenants would be prepared to move into a flat simultaneously up for sale, with all the costs and agents' fees knowing they may have to start looking again in less than 6 months. It scares me that landlords have no idea how tenants think.

5 minutes ago, EnglishinWales said:

Can't understand the thinking. No sensible tenants would be prepared to move into a flat simultaneously up for sale, with all the costs and agents' fees knowing they may have to start looking again in less than 6 months. It scares me that landlords have no idea how tenants think.