House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jfk

Bought an Android tv box - anyone else got one

Mrs JFK bought an android TV box the other day, I've never used them before but very impressed, after a bit of faffing around got the relevant apps installed, linked it to the NAS and can now watch lots of films / tv that I couldn't before. Also means I can watch anything on my NAS without having to transcode it as the bl**dy TV will only recognise MPEG2 files.

Anyone else using an android box?

:D :D :D

Yes, Android Kodi boxes are amazing. You can buy them on eBay (Quad-core + 1/2GB RAM) with everything pre-loaded to access all manner of films, TV shows and sporting events. They also run any Google Android play store apps/  games, if you are into that. I already have a couple and have bought more a cheap prezzies.

Amazon Fire TV if that counts. Great little devices. I use mine for streaming video and playing old video games. Works an absolute treat.

Never got round to installing Kodi. Really should.

22 minutes ago, Ill_handle_it said:

Which one, there's literally 100's on eBay. I use torrents so can't really see the point in kodi but I'm interested in streaming. Recommendations please. 

If you put Kodi on either an Android TV box or on a Fire TV (that's what I've got), get a build like Wookie, which has a load of features pre-setup...Saves a lot of hassle...

Either that, or download Popcorn for your PC...it'll stream torrents.  Another great plug-in I've found for Chrome, is to install Videostream.  You can cast videos through the browser on to your Chomecast...

I bought a couple of these 1Gb (4k res) boxes on eBay #272306796382 and they've been fine. There's also a 2GB ram version available on Amazon for about the same price but I can't vouch for it personally. Tmt posted a link to the latter in another thread.

22 minutes ago, Dave Beans said: