House Price Crash Forum
Optobear

ONS salaries - income multiples - makes no sense

The Guardian is reporting salaries by profession from ONS data

https://www.theguardian.com/money/2016/oct/31/highest-paid-jobs-2016-ons-annual-survey-hours-earnings

Take doctors, Median is £75k, 90th percentiles is £132k

It is the 8th highest paid profession. The top is for financial traders / brokers - but too few reported to allow proper statistics. They had an average of £132k.

The BoE are looking at mortgages multiples of 4.5 times...

So median doctor can borrow £337k, top paid 10% of doctors can borrow £594k

So how can house prices be where they are? 

Either mortgages are all much bigger than let on, or most people are committing tax fraud?

MrsLTS role is officially at #3 with additional responsibility taking her basic pay into #2. With bonuses and car allowance she'll likely be an additional rate tax payer for the first time next year but the pace and work load will make this a 5-10 year path either leading to a MD role, consultancy or giving it up completely and entering another profession. Burn out is very real. For us to take out a mortgage for £500-600k over 25 years would be financial suicide. How others manage or afford this level of servitude I do not know.

anecdotal: my boiler broke down this week and is getting replaced on Saturday. The engineer charges £500 to install and commission a new one and told me he had four to do that day. That's a lot of money.

Interesting data. In the SE though, I still think house prices are supported mainly by BOMAD on the FTB end, and up until recently IO BTL on the 'investor' (spiv) end.

Our pay has changed by whatever the lowest inflation figure is i.e. the function

min(CPI, RPI, Average Earnings growth)

for that year for years.

Edited by Frugal Git

9 hours ago, longtomsilver said: