House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Renewed Investor

People can't write properly anymore

I've mentioned before on here that I am a small business owner. I used to mostly just do business with local companies but over the past year I've been doing more business online and more business with the general public as opposed to just other businesses. Overall this has been good for me, my income has more than doubled but there are a few things that annoy me about dealing with the general public and my number one gripe is people just cannot write properly anymore.

For example, I have to correct the addresses of more than 50% of all orders. This is shocking to me, I spend so much time now googling addresses that just don't sound right. We are not talking slight mistakes here, I mean people totally mispelling their street names and giving incorrect post codes. How can you not know your own address?!?!

I started googling the address of every order after a string of complaints of undelivered orders, and despite ALL these missing orders being the fault of the customer giving incorrect or incomplete details, I had to fork out the money to replace them and send them to the correct addresses. Now on to the complaints themselves, all but a tiny handful were written in coherent english. I'd estimate 90%+ were written in "text speak" and contained profanities wrapped up in poorly written colloquialism as if they were having a heated argument with a mate of theirs. What happened to manners and politeness? Would these people write in this manner to say a Government body to request a legal form? God help any of the older folks trying to read it, I'm 26 and barely made sense of most of these emails.