House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Will!

What not to put on your CV

From the Telegraph:  Looking for a job? Here's what not to put on your CV

I realise that these are aprocryphal, but some of of them made me smile anyway:

Revealed | Humiliating CV blunders as revealed by recruiters

"My interests include cooking dogs and interesting people"

"I was responsible for dissatisfied customers"

"I am a prooficient typist"

"Socially I like to dine out with different backgrounds"

"I was responsible for fraudulent claims"

"While working in this role, I had intercourse with a variety of people"

"Experienced sheet mental worker"

"Highly adept at multi-tasting"

"I am a pubic relations officer"

"Left last four jobs only because the managers were completely unreasonable"

Source: Personal Career Management

A CV from a candidate claiming to have experience in Arctic Warfare

An individual who went to great lengths to explain his interest and knowledge of origami

A CV written entirely in the third person

Female candidate included scantily clad photo of herself (for a role as a Foundry Maintenance Team Leader)

A CV listing achievements that included "successfully putting daughter to bed over 100 times"

Inclusion of ear size measurement

A full CV written in text speak

A candidate stating they are "nice to children, animals and old people" in their covering letter

"Excellent upper body strength" listed as a skill - for a PR account executive role

A CV sent in a dirty, used and smelly tennis shoe, with a note saying "does this mean I have my foot in the door?"

Source: Monster.co.uk

A college mate kept bring turned down for his first (post grad) job. I offered to review his CV as I couldn't see why he wasn't getting hired.

He had a whole section where he set out his admiration for two nineteenth century philosophers. I suggested that he take it out. He got a job.

24 minutes ago, Frank Hovis said: