House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  

10% drop and renting's already cheaper

I have been renting since 1998, and been in a position to buy since 2011 (married, finished travelling, etc etc), .  We've been holding off becaude of the insane prices, and get a barrage of "renting is dead money" etc etc.

The main basis of that is that the pro HPI brigade in my life honestly believe asking prices equal the "value" of a property. Furthermore once a property is sold at that price, or even just valued at that price, that's IT. It can never be worth less than that .... if it sells for less you're GIVING IT AWAY.  Worse still ... anyone who waits for prices to come down is deluded, and actually pretty inconsiderate of the poor vendor who will lose money!  It would be like trying to buy £1 coins for 50p each - how dare you! You thief!

So, based on that, anyone who rents because prices will come down is immoral, deluded and stupid.... and wasting money of course.

Well lets take this house ...

http://www.rightmove.co.uk/property-for-sale/property-55919380.html

The asking price has dropped from £330k to £300k since september. Regardless of "value", that drop would equate to about £50k of mortgage repayments (had I bought the property at asking price). That £50k is pretty much identical to what I have paid in rent since 2011. So the drops in one month are already enough for me to breakeven versus renting for FIVE YEARS. 

I have no reason to think the drops will stop now, so I'm confident waiting another year or so will allow me to come out of all this on top. 

And if you scale this up to £1m properties in london ... it really won't take much for renters to come out on top financialy compared to those who shackled themselves to insance levels of debt.

It sold last year for 275k, 

Any confidence i had post Brexit has been wiped out by May and Hammond, they're neoliberal  Blairite scum of the lowest order, no decent drops in sold prices with these 2 in charge.