House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
giesahoose

Been Looking Now Close To Buying

I have been saving for a deposit for a few years and now have almost 2 years net income.

Found a flat I like needs some work but have a 15% deposit and cash to decorate.

Mortgage rate is less than 2% which means the interest payment is going to be less than half my current rent, on a smaller place in a worse area.

If interest rates stay low for a few years I would be nuts not to buy but I cant be sure what they are going to do.

Prediction is next move will be even more of a cut.

Big decision time coming up, any thoughts?

Nah my rent is 15% lower than comparable places and hasn't shifted for 5 years.

Mortgage rates are just crazy low. You can borrow 200k for less than 400 a month!!

Teaser rates have gotten people into trouble in the past.

Mortgage rates are just crazy low. You can borrow 200k for less than 400 a month!!

That's interest only I take it?

Yeah the interest part of it.

As I have been saving on top of my rent I have been looking at the interest as being the equivalent as rent.

Out of interest do u folk own? Been renting for over a decade now and am finally in the position to get somewhere I really like that is in all the "affordability" targets I set myself.

Going to be might annoyed if the whole thing collapses as soon as I buy lol

Yeah the interest part of it.

As I have been saving on top of my rent I have been looking at the interest as being the equivalent as rent.

Out of interest do u folk own? Been renting for over a decade now and am finally in the position to get somewhere I really like that is in all the "affordability" targets I set myself.

Going to be might annoyed if the whole thing collapses as soon as I buy lol

I bought (upsized) 2.5 years ago. Partly on the calculation that, compared with renting a similar place, locking in the low mortgage rate for 5 years was effectively a 10% discount on the price.