House Price Crash Forum
honeybadger

Fraudulent New-Build Price Setting

[First post]

This is anecdotal but hopefully of interest.

An ex-colleague/friend bought a new-build flat in London around five years ago. He recently shared an intriguing detail regarding the sale with me.

Before the purchase, he told the developer that he and his wife liked the flat, but the price was too high for them. The developer proposed a scheme whereby the difference between the asking price and my friend's offer would be paid by the development company to itself. I'm not sure of the exact mechanics of the transaction, but the desired effect was clearly that the sale would go through at the official asking price, even though my friend in fact paid less than that. Presumably, they were worried that a single sale at a reduced price would significantly reduce the valuation of the entire project. I'm not a lawyer, but presumably this counts as fraud.

This all happened a long time ago and I have no idea if the practice is widespread. But given the vast numbers of London new-builds, it wouldn't be much of a surprise. Would be interesting to know if anyone else has heard of similar schemes.

It's common practice, and underhand for sure but not fraud.

When selling a load of largely identical properties a developer wants them to appear to be sold for the same price, but different buyers want different deals. Some push harder than others, some expect more thrown in. So you get "deposit assistance" where the developer pays towards the purchase price, or "we'll pay your stamp duty" which amounts to the same thing, or fixtures, fittings, soft furnishings, garden landscaping etc included or upgraded for no extra cost. But the sale price is always at pretty much the same price.

As ever, buyer beware.

[First post]

This is anecdotal but hopefully of interest.