House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

man o' the year

5P Saves The World

Britain banishes plastic bags as 5p 'tax' sees usage plummet by 6 billion

Personally - I now have to buy bags for waste whereas previously I did not. This means (for our hotel) we are paying for something that was previously free.

I frequently have forgotten any bag when I am in the supermarket and so reduce my purchases accordingly to what I am able to carry back to the car. This has resulted in a saving in money I spend. On the other side of this is the fact hat I have had no coffee in the house for 2 days, but will probably buy some today.

Parents (where I have been staying for past 8 months) have so many charity bags for clothes collections etc through letterbox that I have not needed to buy and bags for waste in this time.

I find that I have accumulated and consigned to cupboards various freebie canvas bags over the years so these have been pressed into use.

My stock of thin plastic bags that I carry in jacket pockets has however noticeably declined; they manage about half a dozen uses before failing.

We use the charity collection bags which come through the door almost daily for emptying the cats' litter tray.

Not sure where we stand morally on that, but they tend to be the "we'll donate £1000 for every million quid we make" types, so I can sleep fairly easily.

I've started used charity bags as dustbin liners! Had a bag full I once tried to recycle. Used to use supermarket bags for that.

Not going to save the world, but it does show the difference between almost free, and free, in terms of shaping human behaviour at scale.

I live in Wales, so have got used to paying for plastic bags. I get caught without one when I need one about once a year now.