House Price Crash Forum

The Infamous Graph On The Front Page

Portent

HOLA441

I'm no expert on stock market charts but I have read a little recently. I've just noticed that the HPC graph has been updated. That looks to me like a "double top" (or whatever it's called) with a test of the current price. I'd appreciate some input from the Bubbster and Durch :) and any other knowledgable stock people. But doesn't that kind of test often precede a large drop?

HOLA442
HOLA443
HOLA444

The graph is adjusted for inflation and even if it does start to drop, it could mean that nominal prices remain the same. Which is kind of what I am expecting, prices relatively stable in nominal terms but gradually being eroded by inflation, lower IRs and a hint of wage growth (even if it is slow).

but...

If you look at the 3 previous peaks on the graph then we see 3 things of significance;

1. The rate of decent following a peak = rate of ascent prior to the market topping out.

2. The size and length of a fall falling each maximum is virtually all (90%+) of the gains made prior.

3. Stagnation (flat lining) doesn't happen.

In other words history is saying be afraid, be very afraid. :P

HOLA445

but...

If you look at the 3 previous peaks on the graph then we see 3 things of significance;

1. The rate of decent following a peak = rate of ascent prior to the market topping out.

2. The size and length of a fall falling each maximum is virtually all (90%+) of the gains made prior.

3. Stagnation (flat lining) doesn't happen.

In other words history is saying be afraid, be very afraid. :P

Ah but that doesn't mean it will follow again. The same graph could be shown if nominal prices are level but inflation picks up, in other words the value of your house is devalued in real terms.

HOLA446

Ah but that doesn't mean it will follow again. The same graph could be shown if nominal prices are level but inflation picks up, in other words the value of your house is devalued in real terms.