House Price Crash Forum

I have just invested some money in a property deal in India. It has a growing middle class, educated population, low consumer debt. Mortgage products/modern banking have only just been introduced and there is always a flow of money from affluent non resident indians.

There are risks though, and the infrastructure is not keeping up with the pace of development.

I will keep you updated...

Where did you invest in India? I bought in Goa and I'm confident I'll get a good return on it. Parts of Eastern Europe are still a good bet.

I was interested in buying in Goa, but as I am a non resident of India, and not of Indian origin I was informed that I cannot legally buy somewhere in India. So how have you guys managed it?

I was also told that you cannot take profits from property out of the country.

So all sounds very risky to me.

I set up an Indian company. It was pretty straight forward to be honest. There's lots for sale in Goa but a lot of it is rubbish ie. poor build quality, location etc. The development I bought on is superb and has a good rentals management company but the villa cost more than most.

Hiya.

I have an advantage as I'm of Indian parentage and still have family over there.

I've not bought anywhere as exciting as Goa, its about 100km out of Delhi, suggested by a cousin who lives there.

Good luck :)

How did you find it and go about doing it ?

The company I used were helpful and gave me sound advice - it was pretty straight forward really. I'd used the same company previously so I knew they were good.

I was interested in buying in Goa, but as I am a non resident of India, and not of Indian origin I was informed that I cannot legally buy somewhere in India. So how have you guys managed it?

I was also told that you cannot take profits from property out of the country.

So all sounds very risky to me.