House Price Crash Forum
MarkG

China Signals Switch In Reserves Away From Dollar

http://news.ft.com/cms/s/f39fa8e4-7e25-11d...00779e2340.html

"China indicated on Thursday it could begin to diversify its rapidly growing foreign exchange reserves away from the US dollar and government bonds – a potential shift with significant implications for global financial and commodity markets."

Dollar could be toast pretty soon if they follow through on that.

implications for global financial and commodity markets.

What would the effect on commodity markets be, especially those priced in dollars?

Would gold, for example, fall in value due to the value of the dollar falling, or would China invest money into commodities keeping valuations high?

What would the effect on commodity markets be, especially those priced in dollars?

Would gold, for example, fall in value due to the value of the dollar falling, or would China invest money into commodities keeping valuations high?

I'm no expert but wouldn't gold rise against the dollar? If gold is the one true currency then as the dollar falls then it will simply cost more to buy an ounce of gold.

This plus the Iranians starting to trade Oil in Euro's from March ...... its gonna be a very interesting year I tells ya !!

Don't forget bird flu too.

I'm no expert but wouldn't gold rise against the dollar?

Probably, but there's no guarantee that it will rise faster than the dollar is falling.

Probably, but there's no guarantee that it will rise faster than the dollar is falling.

but highly likely. when you have that many dollars if they come onto the market then you can expect that what ever they decide to buy will appreciate quite rapidly. sell your US treasuries and buy gold? a rapid decline of the dollar will certainly bring both inflation and rapidly higher interest rates to the US and then the inevitable housing crash followed by recession. question is what do they buy and how much do they buy of it ?