House Price Crash Forum

Returning From Abroad Confused

HOLA441

I sold my flat in N15 about 10 years ago as I starting working abroad, and renting the place out had become a nightmare. Now, having returned to the UK, I find myself in a quandary of what to do.

Having lost about GBP 35k in the US stock market crash after continually buying as the market soared, I don't want to, and can't afford to, make the same mistake again: this money after all was meant to be my pension. But neither do I want to be permanently excluded from owning property if I'm wrong. I've managed to salvage about GBP 80k from my US "investments" so I probably could buy a small place with a minimal mortgage instead of paying rent: if the market were to drop just a bit, this would probably make sense, and at least I'd have some insurance should it actually rise.

Just to add to the joy, I work in IT, and in part of IT (airline & financial systems) that was one of the first to start being outsourced to India. Owing to continual quality issues we're seeing some of those jobs come back, but the salaries being offered are not as good as they were. As I've been unable to identify anything else that I would enjoy doing (yes, that's important!), that pays reasonably well, and isn't too in imminent risk of being outsourced to India, China, or elsewhere, I think I'm stuck with IT for the moment.

So I'll be renting for the moment (500/mo), from some old friends who have just bought a place specifically to let as they're out of the country now too but want to keep money in UK housing stock (long term), and trying to sort out a better paying job in the UK, hoping that by then they'll be some indication of what's really going on.

Can anyone think of a better plan?

Ian

HOLA442
HOLA443

you considered other ways to reduce your rent? How much do you earn? Why are you back in the uk?

You seem to be very bad timing things recently,especially selling your flat at the bottom of a trough

Edited by moosetea