House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

workingpoor

Guitars

I'm a total beginner and did a small amount of research before plumping for a Yamaha F310 Acoustic today.

Got it home and tuned it up seems to have a small neck and not alot of room between strings.

I want to play the Spanish style of Guitar not interested in Brit Pop or other associated rubbish (IMPO)

I'm thinking about taking the Yamaha back tomorow and purchasing a "Classical" guitar with the wider neck and nylon strings.

Any budding Guitarists on here with any knowledge to share?

Playing classic and acoustic are very different styles

I play acoustic but can't read music.

Classic and you need to read music.

I've played on stage with groups many times. ...Guitars are amazing.

Hmmm yeah i can't read music (yet)

I bought the Yamaha F310 from Argos believe it or not, £99.99 guitar only.

Picked up a digital tuner and plectrums from a local music shop.

I've gone as far as tuning it up and doing a bit of strumming in E minor.

Take it straight back. Run all the way.

If you DID want one of those, there are hundreds available second had that wont be touched, as they are the archetypal xmas gift.

I often do a search on Ebay for "Yamaha Acoustic" as there are some gems buried in their canon. The 310 is not one of them.

That model is, without fail, the most frequently advertised.

I'm not really expert on Nylon string stuff, save to say i had a Yamaha NT model, which is an electrified classic type, and that was very playable.

Take that 310 back though, asap. Not a good reflection on Yamahas at all.

Take it straight back. Run all the way.

If you DID want one of those, there are hundreds available second had that wont be touched, as they are the archetypal xmas gift.

I often do a search on Ebay for "Yamaha Acoustic" as there are some gems buried in their canon. The 310 is not one of them.