House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
marlon brando

My Hpi Radio Play

Been trying to write something for BBC Radio 4 drama. Several rejected attempts, including this one, which is supposed to be a sort of comedy drama about the insanity of HPI and BTL in London.

Don't know how successful it is, but thought the members of this site might like to take a look, seeing as it brazenly borrows many of the ideas and language of this forum. it is at http://anyonesittinghere.weebly.com

The page requires a password which is 'ash' then the play can be downloaded as a PDF. Thanks.

I'll have a read. One post-work project I've got on the go is a radio play. I'm an engineer by training and this lark is almost entirely new to me. But not totally - when I was a penniless student I had a nice side gig going - typing up scripts for writers (radio mainly) which morphed into setting up computers for them (think Amstrad!). I always thought "I could do that" and, here I am, 30 years later sharpening my pencil.

Thanks JTB. Worth having a go. The good thing about writing for BBC radio is that they need a lot of scripts. The downside is that getting them to read anything by a 'nobody' is not easy.

The Writers' Room is really the only way in. I've had various levels of success there, but it has always ended up in rejection so far.

Take a read and you might think that's no surprise!

I enjoyed it Marlon. I was visualising my old place in Bristol as I read it. My landlady there used to let herself in to clean once a week but she never really cleaned the place, she would leave little post it notes on the kitchen worktop to prompt us to fix things.