House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Frank Hovis

Breadmaking Machine Technical Question

I've been making my own bread for a couple of years now. The bread is great but after the novelty of spending however long kneading the dough each time rapidly wore off I bought a breadmaker which is great, so easy and the bread's as good if not better because of the standardisation.

However... the dough kneading hooks inside the bread making tin are turned by electric motors outside the tin and the linkage is a round interrupted cylinder into which the two prongs under each kneading hook sit.

After about 150 uses the prongs (softish iron or steel) have begun to wear very badly and I doubt they will last a further six months (I use it twice a week) before one breaks; meaning the machine is useless unless I can source another bread tin with prongs for it.

So are there any breadmaking machines that do not have this design weakness?

Other than this I'm totally happy with the machine (bought from Lidl) and thought that they were all much of muchness; with the weak point being the transfer of rotational force from the motors in the main unit to the kneading hooks within the tin through the base of the tin. It's certainly paid for itself many times over so I might just have to accept buying a new one every 18 months / two years.

I own an LG bread maker. You can buy new paddles for them so cheaper than a new machine every so often.,.the machine cost around £50, I think. I've had it about 12 years.

Ask lidl to source you a replacement.

The belt broke on my last one and we've not got a £180 panasonic one bought from a local auction house for hellavua lot less than that. It's got a ding in the front but works fine.
We might have been able to get a new belt but the lid was a bit crap at shutting on it so felt it was time to ditch it.